Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Slow Countdown

11.14.2003 | 10:04 pm

This has been a strangely slow week...almost as though I have been in slow motion. I went to school Monday, my last day. The day itself was about as normal as any other. All the time I kept wondering what the little squirrels would do without their stern teacher. Nobody was terribly emotional when the day was over. I suppose that is a good thing. Most of the kids know the lady taking the class. She lives in the neighborhood and has just finished student teaching at our school. Many of the parents know her too, and were pleased when I told them of her willingness to take over the class in my absence.

Although Tuesday was a holiday, I spent the entire day writing lesson plans and organizing files so the classroom would be ready for a new teacher. New teacher and I met up at the school about 4:00 that afternoon and I methodically went through the school day, curriculum, my procedures, discipline, weekly progress reports, AR Reading on the computer and a host of other details. By the time I left school, about 7:00 that night, I was drained. I literally limped home and into bed. The next morning I didn�t wake up till 9:00 AM. I was actually awakened with a phone call from my school room...new teacher needing another password for the attendance on the computer which I forgot to give her. I could hear the squirrels being VERY noisy in the background. I felt sorry for the poor new teacher on Wednesday. New class, new routine, no specials that day and rainy day schedule to boot. I hope she survived.

Thursday I settled down to serious business....shopping! I went to (dread) Wal-mart, Bath & Body Works, Mervyn�s, and the grocery store. I needed to stock up on make-up, shampoo, gel, conditioner, and OTC meds for my time of hermitage soon to come. Hubby cannot be trusted to find all my special colors and brands. I also did a whirlwind approach at Christmas and birthday shopping for the family. Little McKay, my grandson, will have his first birthday this weekend. He needs Sunday clothes to fit an 18 moth old child. I can�t believe how his little life has changed in the past year. Really, just a year ago, I was making plans to fly to Pennsylvania to take care of Marie for 2 weeks and play with my babies. Now, all I get to do is mail my good wishes to them, and hope for a trip sometime in the future. I don�t feel too bad, for I know that spring will come eventually.

Tonight I made a mad dash to the local bookstore to buy an appropriate book for one and all to put under the Christmas tree. Now let�s see...everyone has an article of clothing, a book and some pretty smelling things from Bath & Body Works. The men all need a little something else, and then I will be finished with Santa this year. Tomorrow I will brave the mall looking for nice night gowns for myself. I suppose I deserve at least that much, considering the pain and suffering I have endured.

Monday I am off to the hospital for pre-op tests...blood work, EKG, lung x-ray etc. I also have to attend a 2 hour class on what to expect during my hospital stay and after my surgery. Since I have already gone through one joint replacement four years ago, I don�t expect to be surprised by too much news. Tuesday I hope to get some grocery shopping accomplished and take a little time to pack and put things in order. I don�t know how I would have done all this if I had tried to remain on the job this week. I swear, after each little errand or outing, I come home wiped-out! Wednesday I am suppose to attend science training down at the district office. We�ll see...hmm. If you were me, would you want to spend your last day of freedom cooped up in a moldy old science building?

catsnapples~ out of class

___________________________________________

< previous | next >