Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Heartfelt Sorrow

04.13.2003 | 4:16 pm

Saturday, April 12

This is the first Saturday I have experienced in about two months that has been free of company and dinner parties. I know I shouldn�t complain, but lacking that pressure I feel positively lazy! There is no stress to be ready for 30 people to invade my home to sit around eating and talking for two or three hours. I really enjoy seeing and hearing my family, but it�s nice to have the tomb of silence back as well. Lately I have been hitting the feathers at about 10:30 each night. This is very unusual for me, especially on a weekend. I always end up going to bed around 1:00 AM. I enjoy puttering and just being home. I did get all the cleaning and shopping done, which is also a quiet pleasure.

Sunday, April 13

Today is what we call Fast SundayIt is usually the first Sunday of the month, but we listened to General Conference from Salt Lake City, therefore Fast Sunday was today. Those who are able abstain from food, or fast, for two meals and give the money they would have spent on food to the Bishop for our welfare program. During our regular Sacrament Service, we have a chance to bear testimony, if we choose. Today was a special Sunday. Yesterday a dear family in our congregation laid to rest their son of only 26 years. He was a sweet, special young man who had lived with physical and mental challenges all his life. He died last week from an embolism following surgery. Today in our testimony meeting, the father came forward to thank all the members of our congregation for their love and support. He was so sad, but grateful for true friends and the comfort that our beliefs render. Then, two other fathers in our congregation spoke, offering condolences, as they had also recently lost sons to death. They were both so sincere and genuine in their heartfelt sympathies for this first brother. I hadn�t thought about the many losses our congregation has suffered in this manner until today. I have five friends who have lost young sons in death in recent years. It is calming and assuring that our friends in faith are there to console and weep with us. How else could we feel the loving hand of God wrap around us in time of sorrow?

catsnapples~ at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >