Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

That Sweet Smell of Success

01.23.2003 | 6:49 pm

Hubby finally stopped by the nut tree today to take down the fall leaves and apples from the giant tree I have plastered over one wall in my room. I left the giant green foliage to remain and just tacked on a few paper snow drifts and snowflakes. I know that sounds too strange to you folks on the frigid east coast. I should have at least taken off the green stuff and had the barren branches showing before adding ice and snow...but, here in the desert, that is really how it is most winters. We might have a few cold nights. What I mean by cold is low 40�s or possibly 30�s. Consequently, the leaves don�t fall...they remain and slowly, oh so slowly, drift and waft their way downward throughout January, February and March. Many years, some trees still have older leaves on their branches as spring buds begin to pop out. So that is the essence of my winter change-over inside the nut tree. No squirrels are hibernating...as far as I can tell.

Classroom behavior was so much nicer and more civilized today. I went in early and tried to put together work for each group of learners to match their needs and abilities. It does take more effort to think through each skill and prepare accordingly, but in the long run, the effort usually pays off. The two little girls that were struggling so hard yesterday benefited greatly from the modified and intensified instruction today. YEAH for them and me too!

Tonight I finally scrounged up enough energy to cook dinner. I made fried chicken, rice, country gravy and spinach. Sorry cestelle and kitchenlogic. I�ll go on a diet this summer when it�s too hot to cook and I have more time and energy to devote to the �loosing� cause.

Tonight I must grade spelling sentences, creative writing, and math papers. I feel for the teachers in the upper grades who must read and wade through long epistles and missives, underline and circle details ad- nauseium. For the little squirrel papers all it takes is a quick look-see, a check for details on the ones I know can conveniently �skip� things, whoosh on a star or smiley face, and on to the finish line. Of course, it�s always more fun when the teacher can use a �smelly marker� to decorate each page. Everyone should have a set......smelly markers, that is.

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >