Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Quilted Sanctuary

01.21.2003 | 12:33 pm

When oldest daughter returned from an 18 month stay in Bulgaria, she was appalled and disheartened by the excess we as Americans pursue as a matter of life style. She said, as we made a trip to the grocery, �Why do we need all these choices of orange juice and cereal? Why can�t we get away from materialism...consumerism?� I had to agree with her. We are very pampered, spoiled and wasteful. She did make me stop and think seriously about the amount of money I spend I things that aren�t that essential.

Well...All that went down the drain this weekend as I went haywire at Target in the linens department. My new king size bed is my sanctuary. It is where I go to watch old movies and pet the cat. It seems since I purchased the immense bed last April, I have had difficulty with indulgences when it comes to the big bed. Saturday I found the most beautiful quilted bedspread for my soft as a cloud, king size bed. Mind you, I already have a lovely hand quilted spread on this bed, but this new one was too hard to resist. It started so innocently. I was only looking for a new set of sheets for the downy-soft, king sized. bed. That�s all...just sheets. There on the shelf, next the perfect color and thread density in sheets, what did I see, but the irresistible quilt. I himmed and hawed and didn�t buy it. I purchased only the sheet set. I left Target, secure in the idea that I had successfully avoided the extravagant expense.

Sunday rolled around and there in the Sunday ads was the very set of sheets, quilt. throw pillows and shams...all ON SALE! I don�t shop on Sunday. Safe again.

Monday...all is quiet. I am not going shopping as my car has been taken to the shop for a brake job. Hmmmm. two hours later, no brake job, not on a holiday. The temptation is too great. Out I venture to Target. There on the shelf sits my beautiful, hand stitched, all cotton, pieced, quilt. Alongside sits matching throw pillows and shams. The next moment they are in my cart and I am out the door with the whole kit-and-kaboodle!

How do I justify this several hundred dollar purchase to myself and the non-materialistic values I espouse? Hmmm...I think I need this NEW quilt so the other one doesn�t wear out...yeah, that�s it!

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >