Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

The *ART* of Shows and Nails

01.10.2003 | 10:31 pm

I type tonight with beautifully sculptured nails created by "Michael" I felt as though I were playing musical chairs at the salon tonight as Michael, also the manager of all the other Vietnamese nail techs, grunted and half whispered orders to all the girls in the shop. I have received beautiful nails from "Flower" "Tina" and now "Michael" All these names, I am sure, their mothers christened them with at birth...or at least the store owner decided for them when they came to work in the USA. Tonight was particularly busy in the shop... due to the fact that tomorrow is prom at the local high school. (Correction, thanks to dayna-elayne. I think it is Winter Formal, not prom) All the teen-queen girls were mugging the place to have full sets of long claws, in order to impress their dates. Maybe those long nails will be used to scratch out a few guys if they get too fresh. Oh boy, does that phrase *date* me. I guess nobody ever worries about having a guy get "too fresh" these days. Anyway...I was shuffled from one chair to the next about three times before "Michael" finally settled down to file and paint my finger nails. He busily sanded, filed, trimmed, and buffed each nail....all the while, answering the phone, calling all the adult ladies in the shop "dear" and barking out instructions in Vietnamese to all the girls. Talk about multi-tasking... I was amazed at how quickly he took care of everyone and still managed to give me flawless new digits. I absolutely LOVE getting my nails done. It is my one time of pampering. I take it purely for myself. I always come away feeling renewed and ready to tackle the nut tree for another week. "But what about world hunger, international strife, injustice and tensions in the middle east?" you ask. "Let the Vietnamese do their nails too. After all, the shop is called Nails of the World."

I think I am going to get it on Monday. After sending home a very nice bunch of glowing report cards on Wednesday, the progress reports for Friday contain marked differences. I have a feeling there will be some unhappy parents, and I will receive some short, nasty notes on Monday. For the most part, the kids are just becoming too social. They cannot keep their little chatter boxes quiet. Of course, today was also ART.The art teacher doesn't have a clue about teaching first grade squirrels. She never prepares enough activities for the full hour she has my class. When she gets in a pinch, she isn't able to improvise for their level of development and interest. I have to brag and say my forte, as far as teaching skills go, is that I am able to use my music, drama and Sign Language background to invent activities when things get funky in class. I can call up a song or finger play for almost any occasion or subject....waiting for the PE teacher, walking to the Library, coming to the circle, memorizing math facts, telling the weather, learning days of the week, and anticipating the sound of that all important final bell. Granted, the Art teacher is a first year teacher and has to teach every grade level... but it bugs me to heck have to pick up the slack when she has done with the little hooligans on ART day!

Tonight I finally opened a present my oldest child gave me for Christmas....the new Broadway version CD of "Annie Get Your Gun" with Bernadette Peters. Let me just say that Irving Berlin was one of the greatest song writers of all time. We were singin' and lovin' this music! Long ago, in a former life, I was on the stage. I have probably had parts in 20 or so musical comedies since my high school days. I remember the thrill and aura that drew me to the theater. I loved the whole atmosphere of putting together a beautiful, comical creation...being part of the inception and birth of this magical entertainment. I loved singing, playing character parts, for I was never the "leading lady" type, or even playing in the orchestra. I loved all the aspects of putting the show together....chorus rehearsals, blocking, choreography, make-up, painting scenery, inventing and constructing props, and sewing costumes. The music took you to another world where love happened, dreams came true, and the good guys always won. Great composers and lyricists brought the dream to life and you were a partner in bringing it to life night after night for an appreciative audience. It was my artisic outlet of a lifetime. I am proud to say that I can sing along, without the need of looking at the words. There's no business like show business...

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >