Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Art All Day

11.20.2002 | 12:48 pm

The little squirrels are restless in the nut tree, bouncing from branch to branch. Some of them have not been getting much accomplished. Of course it is ART day today, and I think they assume that school isn�t to be taken seriously on ART day. Some of the little guys are so motivated to do their best with everything, and some are struggling with a little lazy streak.

Wyatt, my little guy that is ADHD, is having a bad day. He has been sitting by me most of the morning because he can�t stop annoying others, and he can�t seem to do any work. I feel I owe the others my time just as much as him. So, when I am working with a group and Wyatt cannot stay on task, he �comes unto me,� as the scripture says. At times he is able to work as long as he is by me. Other times, he isn�t able to accomplish a thing. Surprisingly, however, he is learning to read in spite of all his behavior issues. Oh, and he needs glasses in the worst way...poor baby. His parents are in denial about all these problems. They just send him to school every day, and forget about all the problems, and expect me to work miracles. I got a rather nasty note from his Mom on Monday asking �why� he got such a low score on his spelling test. She seemed to think because he practiced the words for her, and� did a great job,� that there shouldn�t have been such a discrepancy in his classroom performance. I don�t even know how to tell her, the poor little guy can hardly sit still in his chair, let alone write 10 words legibly for a test.

Tonight we are going to a dinner with hubby�s Rotary Club. I generally dislike Rotary functions because I *hate* the good ol� boys type atmosphere. But tonight the dinner is at an art museum in Chandler. A business man here in the Phoenix area, a grocery store owner to be exact, has a wonderful collection of western art at his company headquarters. He has collected and maintained many rare Indian baskets and pottery, as well as other artifacts. The paintings and bronze collections are fabulous too. This is always a nice diversion from the usual Rotary activities. They generally serve good food too. So I will sup and view tonight.

Yesterday I received a belated B-day gift from Japan. James sent me a beautifully dressed, porcelain, Japanese doll. She is wearing a royal purple kimono. It is quite exquisite. I was so surprised and pleased. The little rice-cake, himself will be home in 18 days!

If you would like to see pictures of the new Grandson use my e-mail address as the pass word, [email protected] when you go here.

P.S. Tonight at the Rotary affair, we met a couple visiting from Easton, PA. That is the town where baby McKay was actually born! It is right next door to Bethlehem. Such a small world.

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >