Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

How Far Is It To Bethlehem?

11.21.2002 | 6:37 pm

I would have never thought this morning that within a � hour of getting up, I would be making plans, actually buying a ticket, and getting ready to head east in just FOUR days! Marie called in tears. Matt, it seems, got the word from his work, that the training conference he was to attend sometime in mid- December, will now be November 29 to December 4. Marie was upset, knowing that baby will be newly home from the hospital, and she will be all alone. I told her emphatically, �Ill be there! Don�t worry!� She was worried about the cost of a cross country plane ticket so close to Thanksgiving, and having to buy it so soon etc. I told her, �Maybe this is why you and I have both hesitated about me making a firm commitment to come out. We were just waiting for things to fall into place...the right time.� I reassured her again that I would make arrangements and I would let her know ASAP.

I went back into the bathroom and began to finish up, and felt very strongly, right then, that I should go get on Hotwire and check things out. My hair was still wet, so I set hubby to the task of watching the computer screen. Within a minute the right dates, times, and a FANTASTIC price appeared on the screen. I was confirmed to fly out to my little family. BINGO...just that quick! It was really quite a miracle. By that time, my hair was fixed and it was time to get to school. I called Marie on the cell phone, less than an hour from the time of her original call. She was so surprised and relieved. I am so grateful for modern communications and conveniences.

Now the task is before me of getting the classroom ready to leave for 7 school days. Oh, oh, dear, the poor little squirrels! They will have to do the Thanksgiving Feast without me. On the kitchen table, spread out in a mass of printing and paperwork, are all the ingredients for their proper education for the next two weeks. The trick will be to put it in order, staple, fold, fix, arrange, write and communicate all this wealth of information into meaningful lesson plans for the substitute. POOR PERSON! I�ll be spending some quality time in front of the copy machine on Saturday as well.

Hubby and I made a stop at *dread* Wal-Mart to stock up on kitty supplies. and Tylenol. We got the grizzly job done in 15 minutes and made it home with our wits in tact. So with that in mind (my wits in tact) I will now hit the books, write the lessons, plan the plans, pack the bags and head to Bethlehem. I will arrive back home one day before James comes back from Japan. *whew*

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >