Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Lemons n' Lemonade

11.22.2002 | 10:51 pm

That old saying, "Make lemonade from your lemons..." is what was happening to me today. I had so much to get done at school today but instead, I entertained a parent in my room the entire afternoon. Don't get me wrong, I like parents, but in first grade, most parents think it is a game, play time or something akin to a party to come to school and "help out." All parents really do is cause more work for the teacher of the little squirrels. The little squirrels revert to their "I'm at home so I can act however I wish," behavior when a parent comes to call. I'm sorry to say it, but it is so true. The little munchkins digress by about four years the moment a parent walks through the door. Let's see... 6 - 4 = 2 ...yes, now I have a room full of 2 year olds! ARRGG. Suddenly, they can't do a thing independently... no name on paper, no try to do your work, no wait your turn, no stay in your seat...instead, get up and run to the parent visitor and WHINE for help:( That was the sour part. Now for the sugar. This parent really did help get some things done that were beneficial. She stapled all the new journals together for December and filed a bunch of corrected papers:) This particular mom is quite nice. I was glad she was able to enjoy the afternoon with her cutie-pie daughter, Katie:) I still must spend a good deal of the day tomorrow preparing for my 7 day absence, away from the nut tree and the little squirrels.

I know most of you "ice-cubes" back east will find this hard to believe, but it is still in the 80's here in the desert, I had to stop at the *dread* MALL, after school and pick up some clothing for the change in climate I am about to experience. It is so pathetic that I lost 30 pounds last year, only to gain 10 of those measly boogers back, Now, none of my winter clothes fit:( I made a trip to Eddie Bauer and JC Penny to get outfitted:) I also made a quick stop at Bath & Body Works so I will smell GOOOD! It was a successful outing, but hobbling around the mall with a slow-healing, broken toe, after a day in the nut tree with the squirrels + parent, left me exhausted. The "boot shoe" the Dr. gave me for my broken digit is not made for long distance roaming through shops and food courts.

I made it home finally, and collapsed in front of the tube to watch the news. I usually check the phone messages. I didn't. I should have. The thought crossed my mind several times throughout the day, "Marie is bringing the baby home from the hospital today. I hope all is well." About 9:30 PM, a call from Bethlehem. "Hi mom." (She didn't sound happy.) "How are you?" "We didn't get to bring the baby home today." "What? Why?" "His bilirubin count went up." "Mattt and I both cried." They were so disappointed! I was too. We talked for a minute about her first baby, and how she had looked like a little lemon drop with jaundice when she was born. Then Marie said, "We had to leave him under the ultra-violet lamp with his little sunglasses on, and come home. It's been a rough day, and my stitches hurt." We chatted for another few minutes, and then both agreed that it was better that the nurses were cautious and perceived a problem, rather than letting it go. She is worried, but has faith that eventually he will be home~ whole and healthy:) Lemons to lemonade...

3 days till I get to Bethlehem 14 till James returns

P.S. It is well after midight and I am waiting for my undies to dry. In all the hub-bub of the day, I discovered, to my weary dismay, no clean things to toddle off to bed in:( I await the BUZZZZ of the dryer:)

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >