Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Stars of Christmas

12.26.2002 | 4:48 pm

One star shone over Bethlehem,
Lighting the way to all who would follow...
All those simple folk and Kings alike,
Which would come to adore Him.
But one star welcomed that first Christmas so long ago
In this year of our Lord, 2002
A milkyway of stars beckons
Lighting my way to Christmas.

December 24, 2002
The shopping was completed and all the goodies were stacked high in my bedroom, waiting to be wrapped. As I rifled through the bags and boxes I was a bit overwhelmed by the enormity of my job. But, as I began, I became aware of a simple fact. I had found all the items I felt would be appropriate and sufficient for each of my family. I thought about the fact that I was able to purchase everything and stay within a budget. Several years back I came to the realization that going into debt for Christmas gifts was not what Christ would want me to do. Since making that personal commitment, my Christmas shopping has been more meaningful and much less trite. Between wrapping and running things to the Christmas tree, I was baking shortbread, putting it on plates and wrapping it up for friends and neighbors.

I had sent hubby on a few last minute errands which turned out to be the best of all the gifts we were to give. My daughter had found a wonderful picture of my dad, taken when he was a young sailor in his navy uniform. It was taken in front of the old family home in Huntsville, Utah during the fall. He looked so handsome, and carefree, standing among the autumn leaves so many years ago. Hubby was to take it to the print shop to get copies made for all the kids, my mom and my brothers and sister. He returned from the print shop to tell me that they were too busy to do it for us that day. He set to work with the scanner and printer. About two hours later...eight beautiful reproductions of the photo were perfectly finished on very nice printer/photo paper and ready for framing. I took all the pictures and frames back to my bedroom (Santa�s wrapping hide-out) and wrapped and tied them up all sparkly. Each time one of the beautifully framed pictures was opened by a family member on Christmas day, I saw joy and love light up each face and heart.

Christmas Eve was spent supping on delicious tortilla soup, tamales, enchiladas, tacos, and frothy orange frappe. We each had a story to tell for the traditional �program.� I was given the spanglish version of �Twas the Night Before Christmas� to read. It is a really funny version of Twas the Night Before Christmas rewritten in Spanish and English, mixed together to make that poem even more comical. We sang carols to brother-in-law�s guitar and were a little teary thinking about the people so recently gone from our family and how we miss them...thanking God for our lovely family and the many things they, we, all have done for each other the ease life�s burdens.

December 25, 2002
Oh dear we did wake up late! Normally, I am so excited that I am the one to wake up the kids. We must all be getting a little older, because it was 10:00 AM before the presents were opened. I was happy to call to Pennsylvania and hear the happy little voices of Melanie and Meredith, telling me all about their new bikes, Barbies, and McDonald�s Playland. Holiday excitement and frenzy was the tenor of my conversation with the little Christmas angels. The heavens were providing the makings of a very White Christmas for Marie and Matt and their family. They were contentedly nestled in their Bethlehem home for the day, and couldn�t have been happier.

One tradition we always keep is brunch at hubby�s home. Granny had the usual fare....waffles with syrup or strawberries and ice cream, freshly squeezed juice from the trees, sausage, hugs, gifts, and surprises. Great Uncle Bud and Aunt Virginia showed up to squeals of joy. They have been serving a mission in Uruguay for 2 years. I was truly delighted to see them, talk to them...enjoy their experiences. They also were happy to talk with James....sharing mission stories from diverse corners of the globe.

Slowly, the cousins trickled in to join the melee, bringing with them the fourth generation. My nephew, Keith, had his precious daughter, Nicole Barbara, in strong, loving arms as he came. I had not seen her for 4 months. Needless to say, a Granny cannot resist a sweet, pink, plump little cherub, and I stole her away for about an hour! She is the granddaughter of hubby�s sister, Barbara, who passed away 8 years ago. My heart was sure, that her loving arms were there with mine, hugging and loving her granddaughter....one of the brightest stars of my Christmas day

You might be wondering what kind of size is our family....BIG! Hubby and I both come from families of 5 children. Not all still live in the Phoenix area, but everyone from both sides are all friends and keep in touch. That is why my Christmas Story is only half completed. The maternal side of the family converges at the appointed home on Christmas afternoon. This year, we were at brother, the Podiatrist�s house. We loaded the van with the gifts, food and headed out to begin another party. Younger brother had taken his tribe and gone to Idaho to be with my sister, so this year we divided to conquer Christmas. The adults went out to see mother, for she was still too weak to leave her home to join us this year. She was thrilled to see us converge on her tiny abode. With cell phone in hand, we called Marie in Pennsylvania and Jeanne and Ernest in Idaho. Within a matter of minutes, all the generations were connected, happily sharing the joy that is Christmas. We marveled at the miracle that allows all who are so distant in miles, to instantly converse and greet each other with warmth and love. Mother is funny. She tires easily, but always says the same thing when she is ready for all to leave. �Be sure to turn on my TV and turn down the light when you leave.� Everyone left and I went to say good-bye. I am not usually overcome with tears when saying good-bye, but this day I was touched. I was suddenly aware of all that my mother has experienced and sacrificed to make my life happy and right. I thanked her for that, said �I love you,� and quickly left.

Returning to the kids, we ate, played with some funny little miniature remote control cars, watched a funny movie, and finally called it �a day.�

My Christmas was filled with all the elements that make Christmas touch the heart and soul, tickle the funny bone, and bring quite tears of gratitude for blessings....for the gift of joy in life, on His birthday who made this possible.

catsnapples~ Merry Christmas

___________________________________________

< previous | next >