Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Life Circles

12.14.2002 | 10:56 pm

My friend lexilla commented today that she hoped her Saturday the 14th wasn�t going to be her Friday the 13th, since her Friday had been so good. Little did I realize the warning I should have heeded in those words. I don�t believe in superstitions like Friday the 13th, but it is strange how my Saturday the 14th unfolded.

Chapter 1
I was really going to get cracking and put the lights on the tree. As I began, I got a call from my brother, the Podiatrist. He had just been on the phone to mother�s caregiver. Mom has pneumonia, and they need to call 911 and get her to the hospital. Brother and I dashed out to the home to visit and assess the situation. We decided to call the DR and ask if he could order her breathing treatments through the in-home nursing service and get her on some antibiotics. The two DRs discussed things via the phone and things were set. We left, feeling assured that things would be OK.

Chapter 2
That pesky bladder thing was REALLY bugging me by this time. I had been hoping that my home remedies would do the trick...but alas, not so. I had to take some of those awful dark red pills and wait for the DR to call me. He eventually called and sent me to urgent care. It is now 10:30 PM. Six hours from the time I started all the run around with the DRs. I am $50. poorer, due to the fact that it is late Saturday night and my regular pharmacy is closed. Of course, my medicine is the most expensive and newest on the market...not cheap or generic, in other words. I am assured that these pills will �knock it out� of me. I hope the DR meant the infection.

Chapter 3
Mom�s temp went up to 102 and they couldn�t get fluids in her. The decision was made to go ahead and take her to the hospital. Younger brother just called from the hospital. Mother does not want to be there. She has lived almost 40 years with MS, been a widow for that long too. She doesn�t want to be hooked up to tubes and monitors. It is hard to be the parent to your parent. I asked brother what he wants me to do. �Nothing right now.� he says. I�m planning to spend most of Sunday at the hospital just watching. I called Marie in PA to tell her Granny was in the hospital. She was sad. It has been a year since she has seen her Grandma. Her baby is too young to try and travel, so there will be no last visits. I know she is sad thinking she might not see her Grandmother again. Marie asked if I was sad or afraid. I said, �No. I just want Grandma to be peaceful and comfortable.�

Chapter 4
Tomorrow is Sunday. We worship, thank the Lord for all the good things in our lives, enjoy family, rest, and renew so we can face a new week. We will meet a potentially new family member tomorrow. My niece Emily, is bringing her true love to the family initiation dinner...pancakes at Uncle Cameron�s house. There, the poor guy will have to endure the company, noise and curiosity of all the cousins, aunts and uncles. We do love to give the newest members a royal welcome! We all will be, in our own private way, thinking of our mother and grandmother, as she is completing the family circle...that circle of life..

catsnapples~ at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >