Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Anything American

12.08.2002 | 10:07 pm

We finally got James in the van and out to see his Grandmother, my mom. He can�t drive yet because his driver�s license was stolen in Japan. He didn�t need to drive in Japan, because he rode a bike everywhere. Now he needs to get it replaced. He and hubby will have to do that �hurry-up and wait� chore tomorrow at the DMV, without me. (sniff sniff) I will be returning to the nut tree with all the little squirrels. Grandma was so happy to see him! I can�t quite explain the feeling in the room as we entered. I know, definitely, that moment will be a highlight in Mother�s memory for a long time. She truly loves James. He has always been one to spend time visiting and caring for her through the years. Even as a young boy, he was kind and caring toward his grandmother. She was a happy Granny tonight!

We had the whole gang over for Sunday dinner tonight. I cooked the usual �farmers fare,� as my mother calls it....Pork roast, baked potatoes, gravy, baked squash, baking powder biscuits with honey and butter, corn, green salad, and lemonade. YUMM I asked James yesterday what he wanted from the grocery store, as far as food went. He said, �Anything American that you cook!� I think all that is about as American as you can get.

All the missionaries, coming and going, speak in our church services at the time of their respective departure or return. Today James spoke, and another young man, going out to the Dominican Republic, also spoke. They were both such great young men. I was so proud and happy with the report James gave.

I think my family is finished, for a time, at being in �flux.� I seemed to have weathered the ups and downs of this latest set of changes with relative calm. I�m thankful for the faith I have in a higher being that makes the avoidance of a nervous breakdown possible.

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >