Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Little Hands

11.28.2002 | 10:29 pm

The first morning I was here in Bethlehem, I woke up early and tiptoed upstairs to see how mom and the new baby were doing. Marie was fast asleep and Matt had already left for work. There, poking up from under several quilts and a receiving blanket was a tiny, slender hand. Little boy was waving at me from under the pile of covers. His little eyes were rolling around as he tried to focus. He was definitely trying to say, �Hi Grandma.�

A special experience as everyone else was fast asleep. The white snow that had fallen during the night lent a serene, peaceful feeling to the silent early morning, that will not soon be matched.

The hubbub of Thanksgiving Day was fun this year. My daughter and I were the makers of our own �fate� and dinner this day. It is usually not like this at all. In AZ, it is a MOB of family and friends and trying to figure out the menu, portions and plates, serving spoons and bowls. Who will bring what kind of salad and sweet potatoes, and who will be where and at what time. Who gets to come to our feast or go to their in-law�s feast and is the time sharing thing amongst all the families exactly fair�till I want to go crazy and beg off, for a simpler way to give thanks. Tuesday night when we decided to do our own cooking, Marie and I started thinking in tandem. I would do the turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes, gravy, pumpkin pie and Scottish shortbread. She would do the rolls, Jello and cranberry sauce. I tried to get her to sit down, but she is starting to get her energy back and just had to be in the kitchen. She is fun to be around in the kitchen. By 3:30 PM, everything was smelling done and deeee..licious. Indeed, it was a feast extraordinaire! We ate till we had to roll out of the dining room. Later on some friends came over and we played Scattergories. That is a way fun game!

Now it is quiet, once again in the house. I am at the computer and can hear the little girls being silly in the other room. They are not going to sleep very well. I go in and take hold of Meredith�s had and stroke her fingers� such sweet, busy little hands. I tell her, �If you close your eyes and go to sleep fast, we can make macaroni pictures in the morning.� She asks, �Noodle picture Grandma?� �Yes, we will make noodle pictures in the morning.� *She is sleeping, the baby is eating and I am thinking about having some more pie.*

catsnapples~ in Pennsylvania at the best part of life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >