Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Scottsmen and Artists

11.18.2002 | 6:17 pm

Monday

I left for school this morning, not having talked to Marie. She must have been down feeding the little guy in the nursery. I was determined not to worry and fret today. Worrying is so pointless. It accomplishes nothing but ulcers and unhappiness. So we went on with our normal routine in the nut tree, and I� m happy we did. The days are so beautiful right now. Afternoons are pleasant and sunny. We are learning about clouds, and there were �mare�s tails� in the sky today. I�ll let you all ponder that one? This afternoon our art masterpiece teacher gave us a lesson on Picasso. I didn�t know much about him till today. During his pink period he drew a girlfriend. One of the kids asked, �Was he married to her?� The teacher and I looked at one another, and sort of chuckled. Then she said� �Well he had lots of girlfriends.� And we left it at that. The kid�s assignment was to draw a picture of me in Picasso style. Shall I just say, I have never seemed more lovely? ..all squares, rectangles, lop-sided shapes, lumps, and bright colors...cubism to the limit! I now have to hang them up in the hall, outside my room. I guess I can be brave. Mrs. G, down the hall mounted all her Picasso look-a-likes of herself, and she seems to have weathered the storm.

Marie named he baby McKay after my father, who�s last name was McKay. They are also giving the little guy another grandfather�s name for a middle name. He will be McKay Wesley________. I think it is a noble sounding name. Of course McKay is Scottish, and the other side comes from Ireland. We are big into knowing our family history and where everyone came from. Hubby and I took a trip to Scotland, England and Germany some years back. When we visited the place at the northern tip of Scotland where Angus McKay was born, it was beautiful yet bleak. The wind from the North sea was biting and cold. This was in the middle of August, by the way. When they decided to emigrate to America, I think it was a good idea. There is such a backward way of thinking to the place. It was charming, but I�m glad I am now Scottish-American.

Here is our McKay Family Shortbread Recipe in honor of the newest McKay.

McKay Family Scottish Shortbread
Cream together:
2/3 cup sugar
1 egg yolk,
� lb. softened butter (must be butter)
1 tsp. vanilla,
1 tsp. almond extract

Mix in: 2 � cup sifted flour

Mix all ingredients to a firm ball, kneading gently until dough cracks slightly when pressed.

Press dough into a lightly greased 11x13 in. pan. Prick dough with a fork. Bake at 275 degrees for approx. 25 minutes, or until edges are SLIGHTLY golden. Watch carefully the last 5 minutes.

Remove pan from oven and sprinkle liberally with granulated sugar.

Slice while hot from the oven.

To slice: With a regular paring knife make 1 � in. cuts, vertically down the length of the pan. Then starting at the upper left, cut diagonally through the vertical cuts, making diamond shapes. . Remove bars when cooled. Store on a plate, out in the open. They won�t last long! This is a true family favorite!

19 days till James returns

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >