Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Sunday *sighs*

11.17.2002 | 8:26 pm

Sunday Morning

I feel so helpless right now. I received a call from Pennsylvania and it seems the nurses on duty last night did not take care of Marie�s pain situation at all well. After the third delivery, those after birth cramps are awful...real KILLERS! They gave her one Pecocet, which didn�t take care of the pain at all. Not only did they just say, �You can�t have any more medication till 2:30, or whenever, but they offered no other help. No sits bath, no heat compress for the tummy, nothing! GRRRRR. She called this morning and told me all this and I told her she MUST speak to her DR. about taking care of it. If they can�t take care of pain in the hospital, where can that be dealt with? MY GOODNESS...REALLY!!!

Baby is going to need to stay in the hospital it seems. They are trying to regulate his glucose levels. His lungs are fine, and he is teeny-tiny. He has lots of black hair. The nurses in the nursery took 2 Polaroid pictures for each of the little girls to take home, since they weren�t allowed to hold him. I thought that was nice. Melanie, the oldest, is quite emotional about this whole experience. I hope Daddy can be very patient and understanding. Meredith, the youngest, doesn�t seem to think there is anything too new to handle. I think it�s funny how, even at these young ages, their emotional personalities reveal themselves during times of stress and change.

I was talking to my sister last night. She lives in northern Idaho. Her kids a spread out all over the planet, even more so than mine. We were lamenting the fact that we can�t be there for them all the time. She has a married daughter and little grandson in Alabama, one married daughter here in AZ, a son on a mission in Brazil, another daughter living and working in Chicago, and another son who will be leaving to do his student teaching in China in January. (She has 7 kids) Not to worry, her hubby makes a VERY good living, and they are all well adjusted, great kiddos. But it is still hard to have the ones you love so very far away. Thank heaven for good communication: e-mail, cheap long distance rates, and cell phones.

Sunday Evening

I took my cell phone with me when I went to visit mother tonight. We called Marie. She and Matt had just finished feeding little boy, and she is doing much better. Baby McKay is off all his IV feeding tubes and is maintaining his glucose levels on his own. Marie will be going home tomorrow without him.*sniff sniff* but in a way maybe that is better. She will be able to rest and get a few nights of undisturbed rest before real life takes over. I also asked her if she was firm with the Dr. about pain medication. I had suggested that she be allowed to take ibuprophen with the Precocet, which worked well for me with all of my various surgeries. The Dr. told her I was right, and that she could do that. (Mom knows best much of the time!) So, big sigh of relief, and gratitude for prayers answered this day.

Thought for a Sunday~ Gratitude~ remembrances from the heart.

20 days till James returns Baby McKay is here

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >