Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Another Broken Foot!

10/27/2002 | 8:27 pm

Another broken foot has occured in the family, and guess who it belongs to? ME!!! I can't believe it. I was getting ready for church, and the shower was dripping. I stood up and turned around and reached into the shower to adjust the faucet. As I was turning back around, snap, click... busted toe on the side of the batheroom bench. I really did hear it break. My poor little pinkie toe was just sticking out at about a 45 degree angle from the rest of my foot. Hubby quicky taped it snug to my foot and I retired to the big king-sized bed with an ice bag.

I had to keep going at life today because I had to give a lesson at church this afternoon. The ladies were depending on me. I hobbled around, getting dressed a little later, packed up and drove on down to the church.

It's funny, when you are occupied in a project, your mind is diverted from the current pain you might be experiencing. However, as I arrived home, BAM...PAIN! I knew, afresh, that I had a seriosly purple foot.

I called my brother, the Podiatrist, and, of course, he's in Boston. Luckily, his friend, whom I know, was taking his calls, so, I called Dr. Hale. He ordered some pain pills, and I have to miss school tomorrow, and go to the doctor. :-( My principal is going to wonder just what kind of KLUTZ I am!

Tomorrow, very bright and early, we will drive out to school and get things ready for a substitute...again. I think I've mentioned how difficult that project is: staple, copy, sort, plan, fix, re-arrange, write notes, la, la, la,la.....zzzzz

Happy Halloween from Pennsylvania. Yes it's true, that in Bethlehem, PA, where the little granddaughters live, they do Trick-or-treat the Friday before Halloween. Melanie (4 yrs) was a princess and Meredith (2 yrs) was a mouse. They really hauled in the candy. It is times like these, when we are separated, that I miss them the most. Grandma's need to be there, in person, for important occasions like dressing up for Halloween. At least I think so!

All the married kids showed up for Sunday dinner today. I always enjoy these times. Tonight they started looking through old year books and having some fun. It is interesting how we remember people from High School and realize how they have changed or stayed the same. We were especially laughing at some of the cheer-leaders and their big egos. Why is that, do you think, that cheer-leaders are so into themselves? I only remember 2 that were ever nice to me.

So, my foot and I will totter off to the pillows and the ice pack now. Sweet dreams.

catsnapples~ at home and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >