Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Nice Thoughts

10/13/2002 | 2:14 am

Nice Thoughts

Today was a really pleasant day all around. The weather here in the Phoenix area has cooled off enough as to make stepping outdoors very nice. I went and got some new "twinkle-toes" (pedicure) this afternoon, finished all the housework and shopping and had energy to spare. I know to some that sounds trite, but it is always brings a sigh of relief to my former"house wife" self when the house is all set for the upcoming week. I know I can come home from school each day to peace and tranquility and relax.

This morning I experienced a very touching thing. I was out to the church that my mother's caregiver attends. She, along with her entire family were witnessing the baptism of one of the other caregivers that works with mother. It was a sweet experience. They had arranged for the local transport service to bring mother in her wheelchair to the church too. I went so I could be with mom.

After the baptism, Grace (the one getting baptized) came up to me and just started telling me the nicest things about my mom. She told me how it takes her about an hour every morning to bath and get mother up, and during these times mom is always so cheerful and full of good advice. She was crying about this time and continued to praise my mom for her courage and strength. I was moved and grateful for my mother this day.

Mother was widowed at a young age, 40. At the time of my father's death, we were five children: ages 14, 13, 11, 4, and 3. She taught school to support us for 28 years. During this whole time she struggled with what we now know was MS. SHe rarely missed school. All of us graduated from college, the boys went on missions for our church and we all have great families. Mother has 35 grandchildren, and 3, soon to be 4 great-grandchildren. Right now there are 3 of the grandsons serving as missionaries for our church. In some way, either financially and always spiritually, she has supported these efforts.

I was thankful for Grace reminding me about my mother's nobility today.

catsnapples~ at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >