Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

The Empty Nest

10/13/2002 | 7:21 pm

The Empty Nest

Today was the first time in about 29 years that we have not had kids home, on Sunday, living with us. Yes, the kids come home, but they don't live here anymore. Unbelievably, I enjoyed cooking a small dinner of baked salmon and rice for myself and my husband. The kitchen went practically unscathed.

Normally Sunday dinner puts the kitchen in a tail-spin. I cook a big dinner, and my husband "cleans-up". That is to say, he washes some of the dishes. I don't know how he can say he has cleaned up when the counters aren't wiped and there are carving knives, spatulas, and other assorted utinsils still lying about on the counters. It's as though he is blind to anything that isn't round and flat, like a dinner dish. Many times serving bowls and pots get left behind as well.

I shouldn't complain because he is a good guy in so many ways, and I can't imagine our family without him.

A few years ago, on Father's Day, our youngest son wrote this about his dad:

Dear Dad,

Thanks for being a Sugar Daddy,

( A Sugar Daddy sucker was glued to the letter)

You deserve a 100 Grand!

(another candy-bar glued in)

You are great because...you drive me places, repair the house, give me batteries, bring home the printer, let me use the computer, help me with homework, answer my questions, lend me books, teach me well, take good photographs, help with the scouts, donate time to others, plant the garden, water the lawn, let me use your shoe polish, wash the dishes, clip the roses, cook dinner, trim the bushes, take care of Grandpa B. and Uncle Rich, do grocery shopping, tell jokes, cut the roast, get the Chinese food, love your family, pay the bills, fix the flashlights, lend tools to others, open and close the ranch, do the irrigation.

Happy Father's Day!

Love, James

I think I'm fortunate. I know it is good to list all the positive things in life. It helps to diminish the negatives.

catsnapples~at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >