Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

My Birthday

2002-09-10 | 5:44 p.m.

Yesterday was my birthday. It was really very nice. The kids at school really didn't know, so we had a pretty normal day. Although, it was a rainy day schedule, which meant we were inside all day. We did a lot of 'hands-on" learning.

Later on we went out to eat with the little bit of "the fam" that was actually available. My husband and I have a favorite German restaurant we have enjoyed for special events for several years. Our daughter went with us and we really enjoyed her company.

It is so funny to have adult children. They seem like your kids, but not. She is a teacher of High School seniors and I am a teacher of First Graders. An odd turn-around. Both my daughters and husband speak German. Thus the joy of anything German.

I however speak Spanish and American Sign Language. Both are handy diversions in first grade. When I have little squirrels instead of children, I use my sign language to keep their minds and hands busy. It works quite well.

Back to the birthday. I was able to talk to my little granddaughters on the phone early in the morning. There is nothing quite so heart-warming as hearing those little voices wishing you "Happy Birthday!" I feel very lucky indeed.

That is me...catsnapples in first grade and at life.

___________________________________________

< previous | next >