Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Back in the Saddle

02.28.2004 | 8:14 pm

I know it has been a very long time since I have written. Many things have happened, most of which are encouraging and positive. Last week I went back to the squirrels for half days. Next week it will be full time. I am a little afraid about getting tired out before the end of the school day, but I seemed to have adjusted to the half day quicker that I expected. When I returned to school, my room was in good order. Actually, I took Valentines to the kids in the middle of the month, and could see then that things were going well.

I finished therapy a week ago and graduated with flying colors. My mobility, extension and strength seem to be ahead of schedule, according to the therapists and my orthopedist. Dr. Armstrong was really pleased with the degree of bend my new joint has. (About 150 degrees), which is almost normal. I really think I have been able to get this far because I have been doing things around the house and not just sitting around.

I have lost about 20 pounds and have had to buy new clothes for school; as well as alter some skirts that I already had. I ordered some sweater twin sets to go with the skirts. I also found some very nice dresses that I can wear with my very �lovely� support hose. Yes it�s true...my veins went on strike through this whole ordeal, and I must now wear support stockings. I found a web site that has an �in house� brand that are 1/3 the cost of the national brands. I ordered the thigh high style, and they are actually very comfortable. I also found a great web sit that carries Clarks. If you don�t know what thay are...they are the world�s most comfortable shoe. I found a style, Laurie, which suits my need for a flat shoe with support and style. They have a sort of �Mary Jane� look to them. I have three colors now, to go with all my smaller clothes. It does a girl�s heart good to return to work with a slimmer, more efficient body, and lots of new clothes to boot!

Last week, in the nut tree, we had to renew our commitment to civilized lining-up, class discussions and general class room procedure. My neighbor, Mrs. Painter, came into my class on Tuesday and said, �Things certainly are much quieter since your return.� Oh well...I have always said, �We do our best work when we are quiet.�

My principal has been very sweet and concerned...asking how I am feeling and encouraging me to be careful with my return to work.

Hubby is still doing much of the house work, although I have regained much of my energy and can do the shopping, vacuuming, and dusting. I manage to cook dinner almost every night too. Some of my attempts have been �interesting� to say the least... Certainly NOT gourmet. I do better just watching the cooking shows on PBS that in following through with their exotic fare.

Today I ironed all the clothing I am going to need for next week. I am still rather slow on the uptake in the morning. My knee is �rusty� when I first wake up. It takes about 30 minutes for the Ibuprophen to circulate through my system and relieve the stiffness. When I was in the hospital, I was so anemic; I had to have two units of blood. I am still taking these nasty iron pills, along with a giant fiber pill so the iron doesn�t stop me up. I have a regular Walgreen�s Pharmacy in my bathroom. I also have a mountain of creams to rub into my lovely 10 inch scar. I tend to develop lumpy, bumpy scar tissue, and am constantly working some sort of vitamin E, Aloe or other concoction into the scar to soften it up. My poor hubby doesn�t have an inch of counter space for anything. (Although he doesn�t really need any space)

It has been rainy and cool in the desert this week. Our roof sprouted a leak in James� bedroom. Hubby has been on top of the house today with a bucket of cold tar, patching up the holes. I think we are going to need a new roof before the summer. There goes $6,000! Why else would I need to go back to work???

Hubby and I are traveling to New Mexico over Spring Break to see newly weds, Joyce and Joseph. They have bought a new home and we haven�t been to see them since the wedding open house last June. I think it will be a fun trip.

The M�s, in Pennsylvania are doing fine. Baby McKay is growing, and is now walking. Marie had to give him his first hair cut. He was beginning to look like a girl. But, it is quickly growing back.

Well, this is as good an up-date as I can muster.

Catsnapples~ in 2nd grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >