Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Down on the Farm

07.25.2003 | 9:29 pm

Hubby was waiting at the curb when we drove to the airport this morning. I thought for sure he would have slept most of the way on the plane, but he didn�t. Poor guy, he really did look like an orphan. During the flight he had lost the top button on his shirt. He was wearing a long sleeved dress shirt with Levi�s and his good shoes. I don�t know how he figured out THAT outfit. By the time we reached home, two more buttons had popped off. He wouldn�t change his shirt, instead, letting me sew on the buttons while he was still wearing the shirt. What can I say? He is stubborn, or maybe he was just too tired to care. �I asked him how long ago he had shaved. He said, �Last night.� Hmmm�well, the five o�clock shadow appeared about 11:00 in the morning. I don�t like a fuzzy face. By that time we had regrouped and were on our way to the Living History Farm at Quiet Valley.

I haven�t downloaded my pictures from the digital camera, so I �borrowed� some pictures from their web-site. This was a most charming place. The drive was up into the southern end of the Pocono�s. The summer foliage was magnificent! Being from the desert, I have developed a great appreciation for the color, smell, and look of GREEN. It is beautiful to behold!

The docents were dressed in period clothing from 1803. Each guide had a specific part of the farm they told us about. We learned about threshing wheat, shearing sheep, carding wool, spinning linsey-woolsey, spinning flax, drawing water from a well, smoking meat, drying herbs and fruits, using gourds and animal horns to make kitchen implements, and taking care of gardens and live stock. I think for my $7.00, it was well worth the effort.

Melanie and Meredith loved the pigs, horses, calf, chicks, ducklings, and the little old-fashioned �potty chair� in the family kitchen. The master bedroom was interesting too. The feather bed was high off the floor. Underneath was a trundle bed that could be pulled out, filled with three children or an assortment of kids and dogs. In the summer the trundle bed was left out in the open space of the room, so the children could stay coll. During the winter, the bed was loaded up with kiddies, and pushed back under so they could stay warm. I don�t think I would have pushed my kids under for anything�but I obviously don�t know a real Pennsylvania winter either.

Tomorrow it is off to Philly to see all the historical sights. Then comes another joyous Sunday. I hope the baby likes me better this week.

catsnapples~ the tourist

___________________________________________

< previous | next >