Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Gardenias and Graduations

05.16.2003 | 8:12 pm

Help me, I think I�m fallin��not in love, but down, down, down into the vortex of my comfy bed. Thank goodness it is Friday! I have exactly 3 � squirrel days remaining, and then blessed relief for a time! We watched the 6th grade musical today. It was about two archeologists digging up bones (history) from the past. The kids did and awesome job. The music was IN TUNE, lively and well understood by all. The play took up almost an hour of morning drudgery from out of my hands. We then trotted up to the computer lab, again, this time to take our spelling and dictation test on the computer. We met with GREAT success. The key board crazy squirrels did a fine job of typing up a storm this morning. The PM went OK. I put out all the art centers for one final hurrah before storing them away for the summer. I threw big bunches of mixed up, dirty clay away and some used up paint boxes too. Everyone painted, molded and stamped to their little squirrel hearts content this afternoon.

A beatiful gardenia bouquet adorned the silent smile and sweet hands of my friend this evening. We were at the mortuary to visit the family of a friend in my congregation who died of breast cancer this last Monday. Although it should have been extremely sad, the family has great hope and faith in God. Her husband is an airline pilot for Northwest, and a very lovely man. She has four grown children and one grandson. I think that is truly the saddest part�that little boy will never really know his grandmother. About 10 years ago, when my girls were attending the local junior college, they were in Brigadoon with Mary Jane. Although, at the time, she was a grown woman with teenagers, my girls learned to love her and considered her a real friend. She was always willing to teach, play the piano, sing and volunteer in our congregation. She will be greatly missed.

Tomorrow, instead of attending the funeral, I am on call to keep my niece company for the day. She and her husband have been living in Switzerland. While there, they were finally able to have a much wanted child. Gwen ended up having an emergency c-section. Being so far from home, with no family support, she soon found herself in the depths of a serious post-partum depression. She checked herself into a hospital about a month ago and my SIL went over to Switzerland to fetch her home for an extended recovery time. Gwen�s own mother, hubby�s sister, died of MS about 10 years ago so the family has tried to fill in the gaps whenever possible. It is hubby�s younger sister that is housing and caring for her and the baby right now. Gwen�s father is supportive financially, but still works as an engineer and, of course, he is just a guy. Guys are pretty much useless when it comes to things of this nature. Anyway, I am on the Gwen watch tomorrow. She wants to go see a movie�so we will go and do a movie.

Then in the evening, we are to take son and DIL out to dinner for DIL�s graduation. She graduated today from Arizona State University with her teaching degree�4.0 GPA to boot! My life is never at a standstill.

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >