Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Eye to Eye

03.10.2003 | 7:51 pm

Bridal shopping "did me in" over the weekend. Eldest son also came over and gave me his �bug� I do believe. I was totally crashed after church for about three hours when he appeared in my bedroom doorway. He has always done this even as a small child: standing close, watching me breathe, until telepathy wakes me up with a start! �Hi Mom. I�m sick.� �What�s wrong?� I�ve been throwing up all night.� (This is why you have a wife, son.) �Do you have some Tylenol?� he asks. HE, of course knows the answer. I am the keeper of great, giant supplies of Tylenol and Ibuprophen, as well. Eldest son is really so funny when he is sick. He MOANS! Lying on the floor he inquires as to where his sister, the engaged one is. �Well, she is still at church.� �Oh�she owes me a back rub.� (Still lying there, pathetically on the floor.) Finally I crouch down and make it to the floor to try and ease the �suffering� of my own flesh and blood. I don�t stay too long, as I do not fare well on the floor for any length of time. I go to the bathroom and pour out a couple of doses of Tylenol, and make him go home to his wife. He still gave me enough of his germs to give me the backache and a nauseated feeling.

The nut tree was, needless to say, slow today because teacher did not have much gumption to move too fast or take on anything out of the ordinary. We learned the usual Monday things: new spelling words, read a new story, started a new unit in math, learned a bit o� the Irish, so as to understand why we a coloring and constructing all the wee Leprechauns this week. Hummmm I still need to do the laundry tonight.

Saturday was a memorable day. The engaged one and I hit the pavement to search for and hopefully purchase the gown. We traveled to three different places and found some fair choices. The last shop, of course, closest to home, had the magic gown. When she emerged from the dressing room my breath stopped and I said, �You look so beautiful.� �This is the one, Mom. It�s perfect!� She tried on some different veils and shoes. Everything seemed to fall into place. Like I said at the outset, the shopping trip did me in. I am so glad we don�t need to look further. She and I have always seen eye to eye on fashion. Here we are a "few" years back, dressed alike, for her first Easter..hand sewn by me. She is the little girl I carried.

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >