Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Love & Money...Make My World Go 'Round

02.24.2003 | 8:14 pm

Have you ever had the feeling that all your old tricks are just that, OLD! I had an evaluation today. I know I did everything the right way, but I just felt that my lesson lacked that good old ZING I know I can muster to liven up any lesson. Part of the problem I think, is that about half my little squirrels have had NO experience counting coins. I have at least eight who still, after two weeks of instruction, cannot tell me the difference between a nickel, dime or quarter. They cannot tell me the value of any of these coins either. They just look at me with blank stares, like I�m asking them to do something that will have no significance in their future lives. It is sad to say that most of my little squirrels are much pampered and usually get anything they ask for. They are not required to �earn� their allowance, therefore, they have no experience counting or keeping track of money. The ones who do have a grasp are inevitably the same ones whose parents must watch every penny. So it is those kiddos who learn to watch their pennies too. Tomorrow, we will again hit the �bank� (baggies full of plastic coins)with gusto and increased determination to succeed at giving the little darlings and idea of what makes the world go round. (Taken from Cabaret�Money Makes the World Go �Round)

Marie called from Bethlehem tonight. She is certainly going through the times of her life. Matt is again, somewhere in New Jersey, fixing a computer glitch in a pharmaceutical company�s computer programming. She is home with the three little M�s, carrying on through the snow and wind, without him for a time. The most difficult part of young motherhood, I think, is the isolation of it all. So often every decision, responsibility, concern and problem is left to the stay at home mommy. Most of the time Marie is a trooper and handles things like a champion, but I think tonight she hit the wall of her marathon day. I got the feeling that she was just lonely and wanting grandma to be there to boost he spirits a bit. Good news though�baby McKay has finally inched his way on to the growth charts at the pediatricians office. He is in the lowest 10% of babies his age. For being 5 weeks early, he is making excellent progress. He now weighs a whopping 11 pounds!

Oldest daughter and �special friend� are indeed twitter-pated. Every time she ventures home she is full of smiles, all giggly and silly, and I think, genuinely �in love.� We�ll see what the weekend trip brings for her. She is going to visit him for his B-day. Then he is coming here to meet Matt and Marie two weeks from then. Hmm�love is in the air.

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >