Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Gladly Glittering

12.19.2002 | 8:48 pm

Today we did GLITTER! I do not like glitter, but find it a necessary evil during the making of parent gifts for the squirrels. You see, a handmade tree ornament just doesn�t look beautiful and sparkly without glitter. I have to do the whole project in a controlled environment in order not to have glitter haunting the corners and alcoves of my educational environment �till kingdom come!� I call each child up to the work table one at a time and ask them what color and what kind of design they want on their ornament. I apply the glue and then let the little fingers, oh so carefully, sprinkle the glitter on to the glue. This, of course, is all done entirely over yesterday�s newspaper. After we shake off the excess, the next little squirrel gets to come up and we repeat. Hmm...sounds like l-empress�s shampooing instructions. Keep in mind that while I am busily engaged in this intense project, there are 19 other little people staying perfectly on task doing meaningful learning activities...all on their own...with no guidance...RIGHT! It is really just a lucky juggling act if everything runs smoothly. Inevitably, at least 5 kids have pointless questions to ask each time I begin with a new glitter-bug, and another 3 or 4 are usually out of their seats, talking, goofing around and causing confusion. Then there is the occasional parent with younger sibling, who drops by, unannounced, and gets her surprise completely spoiled by seeing the project during construction. Then to add fuel to the festive frivolity, all the little squirrels drop whatever they are doing and run to play with the younger sibling...usually a baby. I smile bravely through each and every day, the entire three weeks between Thanksgiving and Christmas. (Bah, and humbug!) I will say that the ornaments, paid for completely at tax-payer expense (my schoolroom supplies) are quite lovely and will probably be kept for the life time of each child.

We booked our flight to Bethlehem for the baby blessing. Yeah!!! We will be winging eastward: Hubby, James, and I on December 30. Phoenix to Detroit, Detroit to Allentown. We have been given strict instructions to BRING ORANGES from the trees in our back yard! Hubby had the interesting notion that we, all three of us, could pack all our clothes in one bag, and use the other luggage allowance for citrus fruit. He is so funny. You would think after 30 years of marriage, he would know that I am a �high maintenance� type of gal, and I need ALL my luggage space for my beauty accessories. He is so funny. I reminded him of said fact. He shrugged and said, �Oh.�

Mom went home from the hospital today. She is doing much better, and is so happy to be back in her familiar surroundings. I am thankful for this blessing.

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >