Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Back in the NUT Tree

09/30/2002 | 2:36 pm

Back in the NUT tree!

Yes, it's Monday and I'm back in the nut tree with all the little squirrels. Today my low readers were finally taken to the reading lab to begin lessons. I have a lot of training in teaching "at risk readers"' but it's always nice to have extra help. We are also trying to learn math strategies to enable the children to quickly do math without counting on their fingers. I like to use things like beans, cubes and pictures to help these little guys cement the math concepts into their little 6 year old brains. Today we were practicing counting on, which means finding the largest number in an addition problem, and then just counting on. The other strategies are memorizing doubles and finding reverse problems. ( 1+5 5+1) Ah yes, higher matematics.

In truth, one of the reasons I enjoy first grade is because I like teaching these basics, and I was really BAD at math once I reached Algebra.

It is finally starting to cool off here in the dusty desert. It was actually cool when I stepped out to feed the outside kitties this morning. Yes, I have my real kitties ( the ones that I keep in the house) and I have the outside kitties. It seems as though the word is out about my house....CATS WELCOME! That is, as long as they work and play together nicely in the back yard. Many times I know the cats that have come to stay in the back yard are lost or have been abandoned by their owners. Two in particular, Fatso and Fluffy, were neutered and very nice. And so the continuing saga of my cats goes on.

Today is my daughter's birthday. I am sending all her B-day presents with my other daughter when she goes to visit next week. I will also be sending B-day presents to my grandaughter, who will be 4 years old. She wants a Princess Barbie. I think that is sweet. I must get two Princess Barbies. One for the other granddaughter, so they will both be happy. I teach to spend money on the grandgirls:)))

Thats life today

catsnapples in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >