Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

My Cats

09/18/2002 | 3:04 pm

My Cats

Today I will talk about my cats. I have had many. Most of them I have loved.

I started aquiring cats in Kindergarten. I brought my first tabby home when I was but 6 years old. Back then people didn't take animals to the vet for anything. My Dad was an old cow-hand, so he neutered him by putting him head-first in a boot, and lopping off all those male kittie things. He sewed him up, but I can't remember just how. My Mom got bitten pretty badly. He was my most named cat. I called him "Mushy" because he was so loveable. I also called him B-Zee,. I can't remember why, other than that was a little nick-name. My parents called him "X" or sometimes "XYZ". All those were names he answered to. I really loved him. When I was 13, he started getting sick, and my Dad had to shoot him to "put him out of his misery". I was so sad. I remember crying off and on for three weeks..

After that, I had a series of other male cats that would all run away as soon as they grew old enough to start chasing around. We still didn't take animals to the vet. By this time, my Dad had passed away and there was no one else around to "take care of the problem".

As an adult, I have been able to take better care of my cats, thus trips to the vet have been possible.

Our first cat was BEAST. He was a big, fat, male kitty that we all loved very much. He was lazy, ate a lot, and had the most beautiful coat. His unfortunate demise occured when my kids were still young and impressionable. He was purposely struck by someone in our neighborhood one evening. My son saw the murderer swerve to hit poor BEAST. Even my husband, who didn't profess to like poor BEAST, was sad. We had a kitty funeral for him in the back yard. Everyone cried.

Shortly thereafter we were on the hunt for a new pussy-cat. We found Fluffy. She was a sweet female with white and calico markings. She grew large , spoiled, and fussy. We took her when we moved to our new house. She didn't take the move well, and was't too happy after that.

During the first year after our move, my husband called me and said to come down to the ball park and bring an eye-dropper with mik. I just couldn' imagine why.

Well, the next chapter will be tomorrow.

Meow..from catsnapples

___________________________________________

< previous | next >