Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

When I Last Reported...

01.25.2004 | 10:53 pm

When I last reported in I had been post surgery by 3 weeks I think. Well it seems the very next week I was stricken with the stomach flu that literally laid me low for a whole week. I couldn�t get to physical therapy, my dental appointments or even to the kitchen to make a meal. I ended up eating or rather drinking, chicken noodle soup and green herb tea for six days and feeling my head spin around every time I tried to get up and resume any kind of normal living. During my romp with the flu bug, kitty decided to be ornery and start tinkling on my bed! Now kitty is 16 years old and I thought to myself, maybe there is something wrong with her kidneys or bladder. So, the next morning, I gather all my strength, along with the cat in the kitty carrier and headed to the vet. Hubby had to drive and carry the cat as she was too much for me to handle in my nauseated state. We saw the DR and he suggested we leave her so he could run some tests...urinalysis, blood work and x-rays...estimated to cost about $300! I felt like that was what I needed to do, so I left poor Polly there...at the kitty hospital...scared to death. When I got home and realized it would be the better part of the day before I would know anything, guilt immediately set in. I felt so bad that this might be her last day on earth, and I had consigned her to a miserable day at the kitty hospital. I called at noon. No definitive results and the DR would be in emergency surgery and wouldn�t be able to get to Polly till around 3:00 PM. I was crazy! I paced the floor, watched a movie, twiddled my thumbs, chewed my nails, and cried. Finally at 3:10, I could wait no longer and I called. The DR�s comments were interesting to say the least. Kitty did not have a bladder infection or kidney malfunction. She did, however, show signs of having had a broken sternum and broken ribs in the past. He asked if I knew how such injuries could have occurred. Hubby and I racked our collective brains and finally came up with an idea. Several years back she used to race down the hall in front of anyone walking down the hallway. Often times she would become entangled in legs and feet as she raced. This is the only thing we could come up with. The DR also showed me the x-ray, revealing a line-up of about 15 boulders in her intestines...major kitty constipation! The cure for all these maladies- kitty fiber sprinkled on her food each day and prednisone to help with the pain and stiffness of the old injuries. Obviously, I was grateful I didn�t have to put her to sleep due to something unfixable.

Last Sunday was Hubby�s 56th B-day. He is kind of an �ol humbug when it comes to celebrations. I got up that morning and got ready to go to part of church. We left our church early to go down the road to my brother�s church to see his son get ordained to be a Deacon. Then we were off to visit mother for about an hour. After the visit, we went to my other brother�s church to watch his son be ordained an Elder. Nephew is going on a mission to El Salvador. Anyway...after all that visiting and observing, it was home for the birthday dinner. It was about this time that I noticed my knee and leg were really beginning to hurt and become swollen. By the time I got to therapy the next morning I was IN TROUBLE! My physical therapist took one look at my leg and said, �What have you been doing to create all this swelling?� As I recounted my week end to him, I realized that I had really over done myself, and would now be paying the price. This past week has been an exercise in resting, taking it easy, always wearing my beautiful elastic stocking, using the ice pack and minding my P�s and Q�s. BORING!

I received an interesting call from my substitute. She was telling me how the newest first grade teacher on our campus, was brought on board after she had used up all her 12 weeks of short term disability and wasn�t able to return to work. She had been teaching at another school in our district, but they gave her job to someone else. When she was able to return to work, she had been spending time at my school...helping with this and that because she was still under contract. When a first grade at my school opened up, my principal was obliged to hire her. Well, this put the fear of unemployment into my heart! If you all recall...I had to postpone my surgery three weeks, due to strep throat. If a person can count...that puts me past 12 weeks + 3 lost weeks = 15 weeks. YIKES! I still don�t know how it will all work out. My principal thinks I should be back Feb.17. I am sure that won�t happen. I have another month till I see the DR again. He will assess my situation then. Considering how I did on my last wild Sunday with the limited activities I did...I just don�t know.

Isn't this a nice little gift... I gave it to myself. I LOVE Hummels!

catsnapples~ at home

___________________________________________

< previous | next >