Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

What it Means to Me

07.04.2003 | 6:10 pm

Beware�.Like fireworks on the 4th of July, patriotism runs deep in my soul. I gave birth to my first-born on the 4th of July...30 years ago! Happy Birthday newly married daughter! Happy Birthday America!

Last summer we visited Gettysburg. I had been reading and viewing some documentaries about the history of The Civil War before we went east to visit the M�s in Pennsylvania. I have to say that our trip through the grounds was very sobering. I took this picture of Meredith playing �peek-a-boo� around this giant tree. It struck me just then, that some 139 years previous to our visit, this tree was probably very small. There were no little children running about freely, giggling and entertaining the other travelers. There were no happy, picnicking people�only weary worn, exhausted soldiers�fighting for the freedom of ALL Americans. As we traveled through the various battlefields, the most pivotal point of that three day battle came in a place known as Little Round Top. When the battle had reached that most crucial turning point�where brave men show their courage through perseverance and suffering�it was an unlikely regimental commander from Maine, Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain, and his ragged regiment that held the day.
Stand firm you boys from Maine, for not once in a century are men permitted to bear such responsibility for God and humanity,� was his cry.
The 20th of Maine held back the Alabama 15th no less than five times. On the seemingly last effort, Chamberlain tried a tactic right out of the text book. He was, after all, a teacher. The long sweeping action of his left flank, took the rebels completely by surprise, thus holding Little Round Top. The Union line held. Gettysburg was a major victory for the Union, thus serving as a turning point in the War Between the States. And now, my beautiful little angel can frolic on this most hallowed ground�free from fear or malice, be it racial or religious. I am thankful for that sacrifice those children, wives, and husbands made so long ago.

My mother, though a widow and a humble school teacher, was frugal with her means the entire year through so that we could travel during our summers. We didn�t just take little jaunts to the lake, but long involved trips like north to Alaska and cross-country to visit and learn about historic places. Our first trip to Washington D. C. was the summer of my graduation. I will never forget visiting the Smithsonian and watching the presentation of �Old Glory�. The flag that flew over Fort Sumter as Sir Francis Scott Key wrote the Star Spangled Banner was the highlight of the presentation. It was so moving and emotional, that as the flag rose to its full splendor, behind protective glass, my eyes filled with tears and I knew and understood the significance of that great emblem. I think the fact that my mother placed such importance on our American Heritage has helped me foster more and more respect for our democratic way of life as I have grown older.

Mother and Father in law took our entire clan (all hubby's siblings, their spouses, lots of cousins) on a three week outing to the east coast when my own children were youngsters. We had a chance to visit many historical sites. One memorable stop was York Town. While there we took an extensive walking tour of all the redoubts (great mounds of earth, housing American artillery) Theses redoubts were where the American soldiers were holding their ground against the muchlarger British army. We reached redoubt #10. The park ranger related the events of this special place. It was because of the perseverance of a few hearty soldiers, defying all odds, which brought the British to their knees. Once again, on a sunny afternoon, several hundred years after the fact, another American came to fully realize the significance of the sacrifices made there. My young sons were romping on an old cannon, never having to know repression or tyranny.

Last Sunday, as our trip to New Mexico was winding down, I was thumbing through the newlywed�s book shelves. I found a small book. It was a copy of The Declaration of Independence. I had never sat and read the entire document in one sitting. I did that day. The last paragraph I found to be very meaningful.
We therefore, the representatives of The United States of America, in general Congress assembled, do, in the name, and by the authority of the good people of these colonies, solemnly publish and declare, that these united colonies are, and of right, ought to be, free and independent states; that they are absolved from all allegiances to the British Crown, and that all political connection between them and the state of Great Britain is, and ought to be totally dissolved; and that, as free and independent states, they have full power to levy war, conclude peace, contract alliances, establish commerce, and to do all other acts and things which independent states may of right do. And, for the support of this declaration, with a firm reliance on the protection of Divine Providence, we mutually pledge our lives, our fortunes, and our sacred honour.

catsnapples~ wishing you a

___________________________________________

< previous | next >