Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

La biblioteca y el bebe'

02.04.2003 | 10:22 pm

Tonight I need to be as short and as sweet as possible. I went to the library tonight with hubby to get books about Chinese New Year and Tommy Depola. Both, as you might guess, are for the squirrels in first grade.

The first, Chinese New Year is a theme we study for Social Studies in our district. Unfortunately, they do not provide any curriculum resources to teach this theme. Another unfortunate, there are upwards of 75 elementary schools in the area which need to teach this subject x 4 to 6 classrooms per school. Guess what??? Not much for me to choose from at the biblioteca tonight! (that is Spanish for library) I am always so late getting things planned and implemented. It is my own slow, procrastinating fault. Of course, far be it from me, or any other first grade teacher, to actually expect complete curriculum materials from the �Great and Powerful Oz� aka the Arizona Legislature and other assorted big-wigs over in Phoenix. So we muddle through. Hmmm... muddle...that would be a good word for spelling this week.

The books by Tommy Depola are for a literature study on said author. He is a prolific writer and a favorite of young and old, alike. He also does all his own illustrations. My top readers are reading about 2.5 level books, and we ran across a story by Mr. Depola. I told the little, intelligent, fast reading, squirrels I would pick up some additional books for them to READ. So I did. Aren�t I nice?

Tomorrow or the next day, my new baby should arrive. My new DELL computer, that is. I will love and nurture it tenderly, not allowing hubby to contaminate it with strange files and soft-ware. But, you know how married life gets...what�s yours is mine la, la, la...

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >