Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

A Wedding Long Ago

12.22.2002 | 12:17 am

Today is my parent�s anniversary. It is hard to believe that they only celebrated 15 years together before he died. I have been married twice as long as my parents. When we were young, after my dad died, mother would always have a special dinner to commemorate the occasion. I don�t remember ever begrudging her the pleasure of that celebration. After my siblings and I were grown and married, with families of our own, the celebration faded away quietly. Mother has often said how the snow was so thick and blustery the day of the wedding, she didn�t think my dad would make it down through Ogden Canyon to Salt Lake City for their wedding. She also told me many times how frightened she was and that she was secretly hoping he wouldn�t make it. The blizzard and storms of 54 years ago are a frosty, silent memory. So much has happened to make me know that I am glad my dad made it through the stormy canyon to the wedding. Happy 54th anniversary, Ernest and Lucille, my parents.

A friend philothea reminded me today of how precious it is to have your parents together and your family whole. Her dad surprised them, and was able to return from his assignment in the armed forces, to be home for Christmas. I am so happy for her.

I have been spinning my wheels today. No energy! I found my blood pressure cuff and have been frantic about my blood pressure all day. I don�t know why it is so high. I�m usually considered practically dead because my normal pressure is so low. Something like this always happens on the weekend too, right in the middle of million-and-one projects! Maybe I�ll calm down through Sunday and things will be better by Monday. If not, off to the DR I go. You know that is why I teach...good health insurance. What a lousy thing to say!

I think, no I am sure, that I will be the last person in the Christian world to be finishing Christmas preparations on Monday and Tuesday. Marie e-mailed me some ideas for Matt and told me she needs kitchen gadgets...BORING! I cornered my oldest son and daughter and finally got some ideas for them on their wishes. James needs Levis. It seems he can�t find any of his Levis he had before he went on his mission. Hmmm... the Levi Lifter has struck! So it goes.

catsnapples~ at life before Christmas

___________________________________________

< previous | next >