Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Walking on Clouds

Friday, Nov. 08, 2002 | 11:44 pm

If you know anything about clouds, they can be imaginary, playful and illicit many thoughts and feelings. Scientifically they can conjure up images of storms, tempests and even puffy tranquility. Today, here in the desert, the clouds hung low and smooth, with occasional tufts and fluffs. They were all of grayish white, no blackness or anger. They were as if the weather Gods had laid out a tremendous roll of quilt batting and were readying the skies for the making of a giant comforter in which to envelop the creatures below. All day long Christopher, my little bracelet giver and teddy bear kept telling the class that it was going to rain. Each time this proclamation came out, hub-bub and excitement buzzed throughout the room. My, oh my... a rainy day. What could be more unusual for all of us desert rats! It never did rain, but were sure were warned about that possibility often.

Friday�s are always test days in the nut tree. Today was really the first time I tested them on everything that counts: reading, writing, and math. The little squirrels are quite used to their quiet folders now, and did a smashing job of keeping their eyes on their own work, thinking, not yelling out the answers, and completing everything. While they worked on a tissue paper turkey, I graded and recorded everything and got it all passed back. Whew! Since we don�t have school on Monday, I am going back to the room to transition all the room d�cor from red and yellow apples to fall and winter decorations. I have everything in large paper envelopes that are then kept in big, flat drawers. Never remembering quite all that is in each upcoming drawer, I always have fun seeing things for the first time...once again. I do know that my things for November and December are my favorites. I have a set of pilgrim mice that the little squirrels always love, cornucopias, autumn leaves, fold -out turkeys, and on and on. Yes, I spend MY OWN money on all these cutesy things. Providing things for a colorful and pleasant environment in the class room just aren�t high on the budget priorities of any state law maker here in AZ. We are one of the worst states for school financing. *sigh*

I am also going to spend my precious day off at school so I can get things lined up well in advance, in case Marie goes into delivery early and I need to dash off to Pennsylvania. I am almost hoping she can deliver right before Thanksgiving, Then I could stay longer:) Tomorrow is Saturday and I must get my digits buffed and polished. It is the one extravagant things I do for myself. I love getting to pick nail polish, sitting in special chairs, and being pampered. My extended family doesn�t really get it. I�m sure they think it�s a waste of money. I think if you teach little squirrels all day for ten years, you are allowed to have your toenails and fingernails buffed and fluffed and then you can go out of the salon, feeling like you are walking on clouds.

___________________________________________

< previous | next >