Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Tie Your Own Shoes...Please!

10/22/2002 | 7:41 pm

Tie Your Own Shoes... Please!

I was pleasantly surprised to read the note from the substitute. She had a good day with the little squirrels, except for one. He is ADHD. I know it! In my ten years of teaching, he is just the third, true, real one I have seen. He struggles so to make good choices, but his little brain is not making all its connections the right way, and he can't put life, limb, nor tie his shoe-laces together. I don't really want him to tie his shoe-laces together, just tie them...that would suffice. Poor little guy, everyday he practically kills himself tripping over them. I know, I know what you're saying: "Why don't I take kind pity on the poor thing and tie them for him?" This is why. By first grade, ALL children should be able to tie their OWN shoes. It is my job to teach them readin' ritin' and rithmatic'. It is a parent's job to teach manners, respect, and shoe tying! End of preaching!

On a more musical note, our first grade play entitled, "Christopher Columbus" is so adorable. Each of the six first grade classes at our school has a special part and time on stage. They play the bells, sing, sail cardboard ships and generally charm the smiles out of all who view their performance. Tomorrow is the dress rehearsal and then...curtain up, light the lights, another openin' another show! There will be so many vidio cameras, parents, siblings, grandparents, and the like, crouded into the cafeteria, that we won't be able to breath Thursday night. Glorious memories!

I really MUST finish my report cards. They aren't too hard the first quarter. I only have to give effort grades. It is purely judgemental, and that can be troublesome at times. Some kids try so very hard, and still don't accomplish objectives. Others hardly put forth any effort, yet school and academia is easy for them. The world is not fair. I put a lot of mental energy and meditation in during grading time trying to be fair to all. I think most of the time I do all right.

On the home front: All my adult children have moved out...BUT they still come home to raid the refrigerator! I'm glad.

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >