Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Bushy-tailed Squirrel and the Man-in-the-Moon

10/20/2002 | 11:34 pm

Bushy-tailed Squirrel and the Man-in-the-Moon

I usually talk about my little squirrels in the nut tree but today I really saw the little squirrel and it was remarkable! We were getting ready to head home after a weekend up at the ranch near Flagstaff. Our purpose had been to enjoy the long weekend, and then close everything down, drain the pipes and lock up for the winter. All weekend we had been feeding the Blue Jays on the feeder in front of the house. They eat anything, but their favorite is nuts. I had been waiting for about ten minutes for hubby to finish up, when I noticed about 7 jays fluttering about. I decided to abondon the van and do some bird-watchimg while I waited. Then appeared on the scene the little bushy-tailed creature...my squirrel. He was fat and fluffy, and seemed to know exactly what was happening. He had come to get his share of the pickings. At first he was cautious, staying low to the ground, sniffing and prodding. With each new scent and discovery, the flowing, bushy tail twitched and quivered. Realizing all was safe, his little hands began to snatch, crack, snatch, crack, as he gobbled sunflower seeds greedily.

Without too much hesitation, he climbed the two bricks, where more seeds lay. I could see the pile was going down, so I cautiously approached. He nibbled and chewed, all the while his large, brown eyes fixed on my movements. It was as though he was eating on automatic while his danger radar was fully engaged. I spread more seeds gently around, all the time trying not to upset this most incredible staring game. He watched and ate and I just watched. His coat was thick and verigated in color. Nature had made the perfect blending of white to grey to rust along his back. His ears were tufted with dark brown fur that made them look feather like, as a horned owl. A beautiful creature to view.

Soon the Blue Jays became impatient for thier chance at the seeds. The little fellow was undaunted. He kept right on munching. My final count, before we left was 9 jays and 1 squirrel- squirrel eating, jays waiting! We said our farewell to the ranch for another season. My husband has been coming to the ranch since he was samll, at least 46 years. We have fond memories, and each year as we leave, we always feel the abiding shadows of his grandparents, those pioneers who built and maintainted the ranch, wave to us from the distant hill.

As we came down the rim and entered the Phoenix valley, the full moon was risimg. It was partially masked by whispy clouds. On the opposite side of the van, the sunset was just fading in firey orange and pink. Soon the clouds drifted away from the moon, and there he was..The Man himself. It isn't often you see the craters and shadows just right so The Man makes an appearance, but tonight he was there...smiling down on two travelers, coming home from a lovely weekend.

catsnapples~ at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >