Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

Being Prepared

02.17.2003 | 7:59 pm

I have been out and away from the nut tree for three days. It's strange, but when I go home, I forget about all the daily distractions and problems that invade my mind as I tend to the little squirrel�s needs. It all seems to vanish, somewhat like Brigadoon. When I am home I rarely think about or concern myself with school problems. Part of that is because I have learned that it does absolutely NO good to worry about things that you cannot do a thing about on a weekend. The other factor is that I have taught for 10 years, and experience is its own reward in creating a peaceful weekend. I know that when I arrive at school in the morning, there will be a dozen or more things to accomplish before the little darlings grace my presence. I also know that I am usually three or four steps ahead of them all the way to the finish line each day. Therefore, I win�and so do they. Knock on wood�watch tomorrow completely fall to pieces. *sigh*

Tonight we are eating left-overs from a fabulous Sunday dinner. Oldest daughter brought a �special friend� home with her and we had some of his family over as well. I made baked ham, scalloped potatoes, cauliflower with cheese, Italian green beans, tossed salad, and strawberry shortcake for dessert. Hubby makes wonderful dinner rolls, so that was on the menu too. We were all totally stuffed, and there was much too much left over. I think our visitors were duly impressed. We sat around for the longest time talking and joking. Then my brother, the Podiatrist, called. Seems as though there was a "cousin gathering" going on, and why weren�t we there? Daughter, special friend, and James took off for the cousin encampment. (Many times the younger cousins end up spending the night and then they all take a hike out in the desert the next morning if it�s a holiday.) Hubby and I lagged behind to clean-up and say good bye to the rest of our guests.

This morning I called my sister in Idaho to tell her about �special friend� and how much we all like him. Seems as though brother, the Podiatrist, had already called her last night to fill her in on all the great details�.where he lives, how old he is, what he does, what kind of family he comes from, how long have they known each other, and on and on. Just so you understand�there are NO secrets in big Mormon families. (see �My Big Fat Greek Wedding" for reference to this phenomenon) Now everyone in the family likes the new �special friend� and are waiting with baited breath to see how things progress. I think, at least I really hope they are �MFEO.(See �Sleepless in Seattle� for definition.)

Changing the subject, I guess I�ll say my 2 cents about the �demonstrations� throughout the world this weekend. I don�t understand how people who have been literally given �the gift� of freedom, by countless generations past, can cast it aside so casually. I see the evil liar Saddam Hussein is. These people in the streets are actually standing up for a man who has tortured and killed tens of thousands of people. He is playing the masses to his advantage like the best huckster in the flim-flam business. I do not care for, nor condone violence. My own father was a casualty of WWII. We know first hand the personal sacrifice involved in conflict. We grew up and lived out our collective lives without him. He knew and understood the value, the priceless gift that is freedom. He was also knowledgeable�not blind if you will, to the terrible threat of despotism, fascism and totalitarianism that was embodied in the AXIS powers during that time. The enemy today is much more cunning and sly. He uses half-truths, deception and the good will of others (France, Germany, Belgium, Russia) to further his thrust for blood, power, weapons, revenge and hate. This enemy, that will rob you and future generations of peace, freedom and liberty wears many masks�all violent, secret, sometimes connected to others unseen through global communication. Nameless, faceless, desperate men who want us to be terrified and want us to give up and pretend they are no longer a threat. Two years has not even elapsed since September 11. How many more innocents must perish? For any who choose to believe that Iraq is complying fully with UN 1441� for you who choose to think that he will honor new agreements as he pushes for more time to hide his weapons and deceive�go back and check out the history books. There was a very famous British diplomat by the name of Neville Chamberlain. He too used the diplomatic, wait and see, be a trusting nice guy approach. He was even able to get Hitler to �sign on the dotted line� that he would not invade other European countries. Some few months later, Poland was invaded and the lie was exposed for what it was. The entire free world was caught off guard, totally unprepared for the slaughter that came. Millions of people lost their lives�Jews, British, French, Americans�.people from the entire earth family. Evil will prevail if good men and women stand by and do nothing. Personally, I am grateful we are prepared to preserve liberty and freedom.

catsnapples~ in first grade and at life

___________________________________________

< previous | next >