Diary Links
New
Older
Profile
Rings

NotifyList.com


Contact Me
E-mail

Sign My Guestbook!




Previous Entries
Time to speak my mind!
11.03.2004
In '51... I was Begun...
09.09.2004
Out of Bondage
09.06.2004
Scar Belly Queen
08.31.2004
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
06.27.2004

Thanks

Diaryland

My World

02.07.2003 | 2:09 pm

I usually don�t have the desire to rant about intorlerance especially religious intolerance, but I guess my heart is hurting enough that I will say something. First of all..being a member of a church that would probably be considered traditional, conservative, and fundamental, I feel we are taught to have a place in our hearts for all opinions, creeds, and beliefs. Indeed, we are taught to have love for all men and women in our hearts...no matter their credo. I would never think of making fun or of criticizing a religion or belief system simply because I did not understand it. Likewise if it seemed �strange� to me. I would hope others in this educated America that we are, would do the same.

If one encounters another culture, religion, race, or creed, it seems logical and the� better way� to learn and be tolerant rather than tease, bully and berate. Often, here in Diaryland, I encounter moms who are dealing with bullying their children have to endure at school. How different is it when we, as adults, provide an example of intolerance, belittling and bullying, ourselves, when we encounter someone different? No different, but for the fact that we are adults and should know better.

Having said that, I think it fitting to say that before stating an OPINION that makes fun of, berates, belittles, labels, or bullies conservatives, liberals, Blacks, Caucasians, Hispanics, Native Americans, Asians, Slavs, hippies, gays, straights, Catholics, Jews, Democrats, Republicans, Methodists, Baptists, Budists, Hindus, Mormons or Muslims....know what you are saying. Get the facts. Don�t make generalizations that are simply UNTRUE! Don't attach labels that are hurtful and destructive!

catsnapples~ feeling alone in her Mormon world

___________________________________________

< previous | next >